Tags

,

Tangle 1

My first tile – January 13, 2013

A few weeks ago, I came across a term I had never heard before while searching for art lesson inspirations for my grade 4s and 6s – Zentangles.  After a bit of reading, I realized that it wasn’t exactly what I was looking for, so I moved on.  But at the back of mind, there was a little voice encouraging me to go back and do a little more investigating about this “zentangle” process…if not for my profession, than for myself.

So, go back I did, and what I found was a fascinating process mixing intentional doodling with a meditative experience.  Taken from the Zentangle website:

“Zentangle is an easy-to-learn, relaxing, and fun way to create beautiful images by drawing structured patterns.”

Tile 2

I was a bit intimidated to try it on my own, so I found a local certified teacher named Sandra Chatelain, and signed up for a beginner class.  After two hours, I had tried out 7 different tangle patterns and had my first two tiles complete!

I think I am hooked!  I know it has only been a week, but I am fascinated with the process, and I can see all sorts of places that this can fit into my current interests. I hope to use this little space here on WordPress to document my learning and doodling journey and perhaps connect with a few others who have caught the tangle bug too!  In the meantime, I am off to get tangled!

Thanks for stopping by!